M Chakraborty

Dr. Mrityunjoy Chakraborty

FNASc, FNAE, INAE Chair Professor (2019-2021)


Dept. of Electronics & Electrical Communication Engg

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur



  • Bachelor of Engineering (Jadavpur University, Calcutta, 1983)
  • Master of Technology (I.I.T., Kanpur, 1985)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (I.I.T., New Delhi, 1994)

Work Experience

  • Professor, I.I.T., Kharagpur, since January, 2005
  • Associate Professor, I.I.T., Kharagpur, August, 2000 -- Dec., 2004
  • Assistant Professor, I.I.T., Kharagpur, Sept., 1995 -- July, 2000
  • Lecturer, I.I.T., Kharagpur, June, 1994 -- August, 1995

Current Research interests

  • Digital and Adaptive Signal Processing
  • VLSI Signal Processing
  • Compressive Sensing

Recent Ph.d. students

  • C. Vinay Chakraborty
  • Samrat Mukherjee
  • Sounak Samanta
  • Ketan Atul Bapat

Awards and Recognition

  • Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)
  • Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
  • INAE Chair Professor (2019-2021)
  • Chair, DSP Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (2016- 2018).
  • Distinguished Lecturer (2012-2013), Asia Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA).

Editorial Board

  • Senior Editorial Board Member, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine (2016 -- date)
  • Senior Editorial Board Member, IEEE Journal on Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems (JETCAS) (2016 -- 2018)
  • Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Part I (2004-2007, 2010-2012)
  • Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Part II (2008-2009)
  • Guest Editor, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Part II
  • Guest Editor, EURASIP JASP Special Issue on Distributed Space Time Processing

Technical Program Committee

  • Track Co-Chair (DSP track), IEEE ISCAS 2015-2020
  • TPC Co-Chair, 2018 IEEE International Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (SIPS), Cape Town, October, 2018.
  • Special session Co-chair, DSP-18, Shanghai, 2018.
  • Gabor Track Chair, DSP 2015, Singapore, July, 2015
  • General chair, National Conference on Communications (NCC), 2020
  • TPC member of ICC (2007-2011), Globecom (2008-2011)
  • General chair and also TPC chair, NCC 2012
  • Co-chair (Signal Processing), NCC-2009

Current Teaching

  • Advanced Signal Processing
  • VLSI for Telecommunication
  • Advance DSP

Current Sponsered Research

  • Project Title : Advanced Adaptive Filtering for Estimation and Tracking of Sparse Signals and Systems
    Sponsor : Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India
  • Project Title : Algorithms and Architectures for FPGA based Realization of Wide Open Receivers
    Sponsor : Defence Electronics Research Lab (DLRL), Hyderabad, Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India


Select Journal Publications